Resolution Supporting Extended Producer Responsibility for Mattresses (US Conference of Mayors)

June, 2012

The United States Conference of Mayors, at their 2012 annual meeting, passed a resolution expressing support for state and federal EPR legislation for mattresses. Specifically, the resolution states that "the U.S. Conference of Mayors supports state and federal EPR legislation for mattresses, and will encourage its communities to use EPR as a policy tool to relieve local governments of significant costs of managing mattresses."

The U.S. Conference of Mayors is the "official non-partisan organization of cities with populations of 30,000 or more" and there are 1,295 such cities, each represented in the Conference by its chief elected official, the mayor. Mayors from Washington and Oregon in attendance at the 2012 meeting:

  • Auburn, WA: Pete Lewis
  • Everett, WA: Ray Stephanson
  • Mukilteo, WA: Joe Marine
  • Redmond, WA: John Marchione
  • Seattle, WA: Mike McGinn
  • Spokane, WA: David Condon
  • Tacoma, WA: Marilyn Strickland
  • Beaverton, OR: Dennis Doyle
  • Gresham, OR: Shane Bemis
  • Hillsboro, OR: Jerry Willey
  • Lake Oswego, OR: Jack Hoffman
  • Tigard, OR: Craig Dirksen